Get to Know Me?

This past summer I was interviewed by an ambitious team preparing a community based and online vintage clothing swap. The folks at Prefound asked me some great questions that I thought I should share here as a way to understand my vintage psyche!

“I love how you describe your collection as “the funky turquoise of classic Arizona wear mixed with the effortless air of New York fashion!” Can you elaborate on what that means?”

Growing up in Arizona (and having a mom that always managed to meld chic and southwest perfectly– literally hipster before hipster was ever a thing), I learned to appreciate kitsch, turquoise, and vintage. Lots of coyotes. Lots of rustic glitz. And lots of faux Navajo prints.

Then, I moved to New York City and learned to love a completely different style. Chic, modern, and way cooler than anyone else (even if only the person wearing it thought so). I love the bold colors of southwest fashion but I love the sleek silhouettes of New York. Ochre and Bone is my way of finding clothing that is bold, bright, and unique and that will make you look cooler than pretty much everyone. Think…saguaro cactus in the middle of the Chrysler Building.

“Describe a perfect Sunday afternoon.”

Painting in the sun.

“An album you’ve continued to go back to year after year?”

Oof. Cat Stevens’ Catch a Bull at Four.

“Are you working on any other projects besides Ochre and Bone? How does your individuality show in these projects?”
Well…I’m about to start graduate school for public administration. I’m crazy passionate about politics and policy. I think my individuality shows in this “project” because I’m so excited to go in to politics. It’s my goal to become a Supreme Court Justice. And to have like 15 degrees.

And, on the total opposite side, I just started brainstorming for a painting series of female painters in front of backgrounds in their painting style. It’s inspired by the Frida Kahlo 1937 Vogue cover. I love bright and bold (see above) and I love Vogue. When I started painting the cover it seemed like a fun way to showcase female artists (since they aren’t pretty much anywhere). And a good way to decorate my new house.

“Why did you decide to leave New York?”

Getting personal, eh? The short (and simple) version of the story is that I graduated from New York University. And…New York pretty much wanted me to leave. I broke my foot two weeks before having to walk across the stage at Radio City for my graduation. Case and point.

“What draws you to choose a specific piece for Ochre and Bone’s collection?”

I love patterns. I rarely choose “basic” pieces for my own wardrobe, let alone for Ochre and Bone. Also, I only post pieces that I would wear. Maybe not in every day life, but items that I would wear if I were a radical princess who went to discos in Monaco and Saudi Arabia.